“Little Bundle of Contradictions”

It took me 15 years to relate to anyone, the feelings of being “different”. Eventhough you’ve passed on before my existence, and even in tragedy, you represent a reason to always choose life…”

When I first heard about Anne Frank I was in elementary school, and her story was presented to us through film. It wasn’t until I was in high school that I got the opportunity to read her diary. And in venturing ahead of the entries, I found a friend.

In “Little bundle of contradictions” Anne expresses her frustration, with her seemingly “dual personality”. I could relate to what she had written, as a child I too was highly active in personality, and also very introverted liking my own time to myself. It was hard for me to accept my differences, and how others viewed my personality as well. But as time passed, and I matured, I eventually learned self-acceptance, and learned to continuously embrace all sides of my being.

I wish I could express to Anne personally how her vulnerability to “Kitty”, helped validate a part of my life. Her candidness, young wisdom, and uplifting spirit, has touched the lives of many.

…Let me tell you friend, things got better. I cannot say too much for the outside world(some things haven’t changed), but most importantly I grow up and out. I learned to embrace more and more, all parts of myself. The silly crazed girl, that laughs and sings on no command. And the “better” me. That part of myself I was so fearful of exposing, based on how precious it was. The part of me that wishes to heal, and be healed, the thinker, the quiet one.

You cannot tell me we don’t live to serve others, to love in our authenticity, to be free…”

-K.E.M

One thought on ““Little Bundle of Contradictions”

Leave a Reply

