“Question Everything”

She told us to ‘question everything’. And at the time I thought she simply meant authority, but it’s proven to be so much more than that.”

Ms. Lloyd was my 8th grade teacher at Bronx Writing Academy “The pen is mightier than the sword”. She was our Home Room teacher, and also taught Math and Science. Ms. Lloyd was a beautiful individual, who cared to share life lessons through her teaching. There was the Erykah Badu song “On & On” , “I was born under water with 3 dollars and 6 dimes. Yeah you might laugh ’cause you did not do your math”, used to convey a math problem. And the John Legend song “Ordinary People”, as we celebrated the end of the school year, and her reflection on our class (we were a handful).

It’s been a good 10 years since I’ve seen Ms. Lloyd, and one thing she taught us that stood out the most, was to question everything. If ever we had a concern about something question it, and make our voices heard. In my years growing up since then, I’ve learned it’s okay to stand by your own opinion, it’s okay to have your own vision and to know what you want to do with your life, and to go against the grain.

There have been times in my student, work, and personal life were I kept quiet not wanting to cause friction, and the end result was settling for less than what was deserved. Or in some situations, allowing mistakes and misunderstandings to be made, not thinking I had the power to correct things. I learned the importance in being your own advocate, and why it’s equally important to question the events around you.

In this life we’re all trying to make decisions, that will assist in our bettering. Having the confidence or assurance to question our own actions, keeps us true to our own personal values and morals. Why do we participate in the activities we do ? Is it driven by a loving passion, or something just to show off ?Or the friends and acquaintances we keep, do these individuals genuinely support us through life changes, or do we have to continuously seek them out?

In a world where it’s easier to follow suit, and conform, I was fortunate to be blessed with an educator like Ms. Lloyd. If by any chance she sees this, I just want to say “Thank You”. Thank you for always being there for a quick conversation, with a overzealous teen girl, and not making her feel bothersome when I felt misunderstood. And thank you for planting a seed, in myself and the rest of my classmates to always go for our best.

-K.E.M

Leave a Reply

